Dropbox - Folder Types and Icons
In Dropbox, there are 3 types of folders:
By default, and file or folder you save to Dropbox will only be visible to you. These are personal folders, and the icon will simply be the normal folder icon with the Dropbox sync status.
These are folders that you have shared with people or people have shared with you and you have accepted the invite.If you have edit rights, be wary of moving or renaming these folders as you will create a duplicate instance in your own account.
In a Business instance of Dropbox however, there may be folders that are automatically added to your account: Team Folders. Team Folders are managed by your Dropbox Team Administrator, and cannot be moved or renamed. If you do have edit rights you will be able to make changes to sub-folders.
In an environment with Smart Sync enabled, the following folder icon overlays or sync status icons will be observable.
Dropbox has completed synchronising any changes:
Dropbox is currently synchronising changes to files in your folder:
Smart Sync is enabled, files or folder is online only:
Smart Sync is enabled, there is mixed content - some files have been made local, other files remain on cloud only:
For a full list of icons, please see the following link: